Simple Pleasures

Sometimes, in fact probably all the time, you (read: I) need to let the little things count.

We have spent the last week or so house/dog sitting for The Designer’s parents while they visit his brother, The Banker, in Singapore. They live in a lovely terrace on a cute street with a cafe within a one minute walk from the house. Needless to say I am loving it.

Towards the end of last week I was beginning to seriously sweat the small stuff. I was tired, cranky and unhappy with my job. The weather was shit. I knew I was being bitchy. I tried and tried letting the small stuff go but I was struggling.

The place we’re staying in is nearish to Bondi, where I used to live. On Friday night The Designer and I went to my all time favourite wine bar and ate scrummy things like chorizo and haloumi before heading back to the house to wine on on the balcony. We may or may not have charged through two bottles of wine.

It was absolutely delicious.

Saturday morning we slept late, chomped on waffles and coffee and wandered blissfully through the markets. I actually felt relaxed. By the end of the day I felt truly recharged and like work and reality were a million miles away. It’s amazing what waffles, retail therapy and Were Bunnies can do.

If it sounds like it was all too nice, it was. I am struck down now with a feral cold. But I still have a smile on my face because I know that even though I feel weary now, this feeling will pass but my beautiful memories will hang around.

Thank you, Designer, I have so much fun with you.

Leave a comment