Write on Wednesday… Write the Music

Today I am giving my very first writing prompt a go! I saw Write on Wednesday over at Stella Orbit’s place last week and I thought I might get involved.

Write on Wednesdays

This week’s exercise: Write the Music. Pick your favourite song and write down the first line of lyrics OR turn the radio on and write down the first line of lyrics you hear. Then set your timer for five minutes and write the first words that come into your head after your writing prompt. Stop when the buzzer rings!

Yesterday I got so old I felt like I could die.

The hum of the radio stirred my sleep but it was some moments before I obliged my eyelids to open, sticky sleep clung to them for all it was worth. Eyelashes freed I sighed heavily before reaching out to silence the whining alarm. I rolled over and blissfully entered the half sleep, the space where I want to get up, have breakfast, go for a run but instead choose to stay between the sheets, comfortable and coddled until such a time as I absolutely must move. I dozed and started, grabbed the clock and began my morning routine with some choice swearwords. I swung out of bed and dove into the shower, prying leftover goo from my eyes and quickly running shampoo through my hair. I jumped out and speed-brushed my teeth, hopped through the hallway and dressed with a haste that was sure to show in the outfit’s completion, made it back to the bathroom just in time to spit. Damn. Missed the sink a little bit. I pinned my hair into a bun type shape and slammed the door shut behind me before I propelled myself into the car. Deep sigh. The bags under my eyes felt as though they were brushing against my knees, seemed as though not even concealor could help me, not that I had time for it. I felt like I could breathe my last. I felt tortured with exhaustion and stress. I consider this as the alarm whimpers but roll over in denial. That was yesterday. Today will be different.

12 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday… Write the Music

  1. I love that half sleep world and I enjoyed your piece. Really felt the energy of trying to get out the door in a hurry,
    Hope you enjoy the Writing on Wednesdays.

  2. Love your last two lines! I can relate to this feeling. I stay up too late every night so each day starts with too long spent in half sleep world. You have described that morning time perfectly. Lovely to have you playing along with Write On Wednesdays!

    x

  3. Thanks for joining us all. As a kindred disliker of mornings, I found I related to too much of your piece. And how did you know that every morning is going to be different?!

  4. Great descriptive piece! I know too well the rush that comes after those few extra stolen moments between the sheets, somehow it never seems quite worth it – until the next morning…

  5. The bags under her eyes brushing against her knees – great image! This piece really captured the reluctance and the inevitable morning rush! Well done!

  6. I love your use of “half sleep”! I think that it’s something we can all relate to. And I really liked the ending – I was going through the piece thinking “what’s she getting ready for? What’s going to happen”. And then it was a “half-sleep” dream.
    ❤ Kiersten

  7. You are such a clever clogs! Your writing is fantastic. I’m green with envy. And as for your delightful twitter reminder/guilt trip, I’ll have you know that although I’ve been neglecting the Madame Turbo blog, there’s another (rather interesting) side project that I’ve been working on …

  8. Pingback: Write on Wednesday… Think with Character « flowersinmywords

Leave a Reply

