Write on Wednesday… Sit under a tree and write

Write on Wednesdays Exercise 7Sit under a tree and write: Find yourself a quiet spot. Set a timer for 5 minutes. Take a look at Kristy’s tree photo and write the first words that come into your head. Keep writing whatever comes into your head. Stop when the buzzer rings. Do this exercise over and over if you wish.

Sit under a tree and write

She lent back against the hard bark and pushed her toes deeper into the grainy sand. Leaves rested gently in the brunette waves of hair that cascaded around her shoulders, stray strands settling on her face. She smiled into the dappled sunlight and breathed in the day. The sun and the sand, the ocean and the breeze, the freshly cut grass and the earthy bark at her back. Reaching behind her ear she dragged her fingers across the rough surface, feeling out the markings of so many years earlier. She traced its lines in wistful memory then dropped her hand with a sigh. In the distance Jacob was giggling in delight. His tiny body ran to and fro and the ocean’s edge jerking the kite, big in his small hands, this way and that. She grinned at him, sharing his joy, clapping as his kite took to the sky. His back turned to her as he strained to keep it high. Yawning, she picked at a dandelion and watched as fragments broke off and disappeared into the sunshine.

It being Thursday already, I believe that fact enough makes it clear that I am a little pushed for time this week, ‘Wednesday’ in ‘Write on Wednesday’ being the operative word… I stuck to my five minutes and this is my first and only attempt.

Thanks again to Gill at Ink Paper Pen for hosting Write on Wednesdays, I am loving it.

8 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday… Sit under a tree and write

    • Thanks for reading! It is the best sound in the world. Right now it’s so chilly in Southern Aus I can’t even imagine the crazy heat of summer… (this comment will come back to bite me in January I’m sure)

  1. Great descritpion! Not only did the scenery come alive for me, I could easily picture the character. I’m glad you didn’t describe her too much (haha well barely), leaving room for the imagination.

  2. I had a good visual image while I was reading too. This piece has a nice mood to it, I felt the yawn was relaxed, serene even. Lovely writing.

    Wed, Thurs or even Fri is completely fine. I realise it is better to give people more time to join in. Writing on Wednesday is not always possible!

    Thanks for your kind words about WoW – I am enjoying it too.

  3. Pingback: Write on Wednesday… Think with Character « flowersinmywords

Leave a Reply

