My Liptember

Have you heard about Liptember yet? A few weeks ago I spotted this post on Styling You and felt compelled and encouraged to get involved in Liptember 2011. I am never too far away from a balm so this is one charity that I feel I can really sink my teeth into.

 

It’s available at Myer for $10. And it feels and looks pretty damn good on the lips.

 

Money raised from the sponsorships and from sales of the lip balms will be used to support the Centre for Women’s Mental Health and Lifeline Australia. Liptember encourages women to openly communicate and familiarise themselves with gender specific mental health issues. It’s a special cause to me because depression has affected my life in the past, probably will in the future and almost certainly has affected or will affect many of you.

 

The Rules

The rules are simple listen here,
A month is all it takes my dear.

All you girls out and about,
Always display your Liptember pout.

Whether it be work or play,
The lipstick must always stay.

When the weekend comes around,
Show it off out on town.

But don’t forget rule number one,
Liptember is all for having fun.

Women participating in Liptember must wear the lipstick throughout
September at work and when out and about.

 

So far, so good. Every day of September so far I’ve proudly worn my Burt’s Bees lip balm. If you too want to support Liptember and help raise awareness of women’s mental health issues you can purchase your own Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Hibiscus here. I had hoped to post a photo of me and my lips working the colour but I have been struck down with the lurgy today and, here I’m being kind to myself, I’m not looking my best.

 

Tomorrow, Saturday 10th September, is the Amazing Liptember Twitter Race in Melbourne. I’m not in Melbourne but I encourage all those who are to get involved!

 

You can sponsor me for Liptember here. And I would LOVE IT if you do. You can also follow Liptember on Facebook or Twitter.

 

One thought on “My Liptember

Leave a Reply

