Write on Wednesdays… Sunshine in a cup

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 19 – Sunshine in a cup. Write the words of Emily Dickinson: “Bring me sunshine in a cup” at the top of your page. Set a timer for 5 minutes. Write the first words that come into your head after the prompt. Don’t take you pen off the page (or fingers off the keyboard). Stop only when the buzzer rings! Do this exercise over and over if you wish. Write beyond 5 minutes if you like, you can link it up as an extra post.

Write on Wednesdays

Bring me sunshine in a cup

I sat nervously, threading my fingers in my lap and staring at a smudged stain on the ground. The carpet underneath the stain looked tortured; somebody had gone to work on it with soda water. Gave the impression of being fairly recent too but the Persian pattern hid the damage unless you scrutinised it closely, like I was. I heard movement from the closed door in front of me and shifted uncomfortably in my seat. I’d never had my cup read before and I was feeling weird about it. The cup reader emerged from the room with a smiling face behind her. They exchanged pleasantries and the smiling face left. I stared up at the cup reader, a large Turkish woman with an honest face and wavy dark hair coiling down her back and got up from my plastic chair, following her into the room, watching as she prepared my coffee. I drank slowly and I willed the cup, bring me sunshine.

Thanks again Ink Papen Pen. I’m returning to Write on Wednesdays after a small and undeliberate hiatus.

19 thoughts on “Write on Wednesdays… Sunshine in a cup

  1. Pingback: Write on Wednesday… I thought I saw? « flowersinmywords

Leave a Reply

