Write on Wednesday… I thought I saw?

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 20 Write the words ” I thought I saw” at the top of your page. Set a timer for 5 minutes. Write the first words that come into your head after the prompt. Don’t take you pen off the page (or fingers off the keyboard). Stop only when the buzzer rings! Do this exercise over and over if you wish. Write beyond 5 minutes if you like, you can link it up as an extra post.

I have decided to follow on with the story I started in last week’s prompt.

Write on Wednesdays

I thought I saw…

I thought I saw her face twitch as she swirled my empty cup in her hands. The bitter tang of Turkish coffee hung accusingly in my mouth. I smacked my lips together, wishing for a glass of water. I searched her face for meaning but she was still looking intently into my cup. Did her brow look furrowed? I really couldn’t tell because the shadows from the red and gold curtains were casting animation all over her, in many places where I think there was none. I let my eyes trail over to the curtains and watched them suck towards the sun, seemingly desperate to get outside, before the wind released it’s hold and they flung awkwardly back into the stifling room.

“Ah-hem.”

My face snapped back to the cup reader who had at some point stopped staring into the cup and started staring at me while I was staring out the window.

“There will be a meeting and I do not think you want this meeting to occur.”

She looked hard into my eyes. I suppose she was searching for a response from me. I’m not sure if she got one, I was too focused on the feeling of my heart falling away. I tried to compose myself while she said something about the outcome but I could not hear. The meeting was going to happen.

Not sure if I made it to where I wanted to be with this piece, but happy to have continued on with last week’s story. I may pursue this one further.

Click here if you too would like to link up to Write on Wednesday. Thanks again to Ink Paper Pen.

8 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday… I thought I saw?

  1. Oh, I love how your character felt her heart fall away – and was distracted from the outcome of the meeting, leaving the suspense open! Well done. Also loved the description of the wind playing with the curtains!

Leave a Reply

