Write on Wednesday… When the music’s over

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 22 – Select a piece of music that reflects the mood of writing you’d like to aim for. Press play. Start free writing. Write the first words that come into your head. When the music’s over, so is the writing. I’d recommend finding out how long the song is before you start the exercise. You may feel cheated in your writing time if you pick a song by The Ramones. Of course, if you feel like writing a short, punky piece by all means, go for it!

Goyte: Somebody that I used to know

 

I pulled myself up onto the bus, nodded to the driver and checked my bus pass. Lurching slowly down the aisle, I looked up for a seat and I saw you. You must have seen me, you seemed so unnaturally occupied with your fingernails. I sat opposite you and felt a wave of melancholy wash over me. I swallowed the lump in my throat and took a novel from my bag. You stared point blank at the back of the seat in front adjusting your skirt and fixing your fringe. I read and reread a page in my book but didn’t see a single word.

I stole quick looks at you from behind the pages.

You checked your phone, a number I no longer know at all, let alone by heart. The bus neared my stop, I wondered suddenly which of us would be first to leave. My palms grew sweaty. Would you acknowledge that I was here? All at once you gathered your bags and stood up. You winced lightly and shrugged, propelled forward and then you were gone. I guess you are just somebody that I used to know.

 

Thanks again to Ink Paper Pen. Click here if you would like to link up to Write on Wednesdays too.

4 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday… When the music’s over

  1. Great piece! I really like the bit where you read a page from your book over and over without actually seeing a single word. I love that you made a work of art out of such a mundane scene, and an uncomfortable one at that.

    / Rain

Leave a Reply

