Write on Wednesday… The saddest thing I ever heard

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 25  Write the words “The saddest thing I ever heard” on your page, set your timer for 5 minutes and write the first words that come into your head based on the given prompt.

The saddest thing I ever heard…

I pulled the car into the carpark and lined it up between white lines, taking much care and too much time to do so. I reversed unnecessarily and lined the car up again, 100% parallel with the lines. Turning the key in the ignition, I looked to my friend next to me. Looking back at me I saw dark rings circling her pretty green eyes, pale skin ensconcing the dread in her face.

As I unlocked my door I watched as she placed her hand on her belt but took it no further. Opening her door I clutched her hand and she reluctantly pulled herself from the car. We paused as a couple approached the building in front of us and the woman, respectable and calm at first, wrapped herself around the pole and refused to go any further. Chemotherapy does this. I sighed as I kept grip on my friend’s hand and nudged her away from the door. She hesitated then shut the door and looked up at the building, adjusting her scarf.

I watched as my brave friend walked toward this building for the fifth time. I trailed behind her and admired her vigour as she spoke gently to the other woman, still firmly draped around the pole. She coaxed her away and gently took her hand while this woman’s helpless husband worried his wedding ring and looked as though a million tears rested just behind his eyelids. My friend led the other woman up the five steps slowly, and I watched as I let the million tears behind my own eyelids fall heavily down my face.

Thanks to Ink Papen Pen for hosting Write on Wednesday. You can link up too.

8 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday… The saddest thing I ever heard

  1. This was beautifully written…I love the first line. The concentration on the parking set up the scene for something you were apprehensive about. You were able to show us the way you were feeling, rather than telling us.

    Brave people, scary and sad situation. Thank you for sharing

  2. I like the way you showed the changing of roles from the friend giving encouragement to the person going for treatment and then that person encouraging the woman outside to go in.

    Sometimes we gain strength ourselves from helping others.

    I think it would only be possible for someone who has had personal experience to have written this so beautifully.

Leave a Reply

