Countdown to Christmas

I am one of those clichéd idiots who starts babbling about how much they love Christmas and baking gingerbread on December 1.

And I have great plans to wrap up everything that is ongoing at work and leave my desk a clean slate, ready to wipe the horrors of the workplace from my mind as I exit for the year.

Then comes the middle of the month and I get tired. I am cranky. I end up leaving my desk in a flurry of papers and half finished tasks. It’s been a long year and I need December 24 to hurry up so that I can bust out of my office to breath fresh air and drink champagne for a couple of weeks.

Finally, finally it is the end of December and I am nearly there. This afternoon is my last work related Christmas function. The Designer’s work Christmas party was yesterday, and I was at home packing, wrapping and cleaning. He arrived home full of red wine and hope, ready to stay up and talk about how we’re going to save the world.

My intention tonight was to drink champagne with The Designer watch Christmas Vacation – my all time Christmas tradition (although unfortunately the presence of a stinking hangover may rain on my parade). Speaking of Christmas traditions, I do have a few more…

Shall I start with the movies then?

The Home Alone movies must be viewed every Christmas, without fail. Their nostalgia factor is through the roof as far as I am concerned. If I can sneak in more than one viewing each of these, without royally pissing off The Designer, I am happy.

NOTHING gets me in the Christmas spirit like Clark W Griswold getting excited about a good old fashioned family Christmas. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation is a family treasure around my parts, with even my mum getting in the spirit by calling out “shitter’s full!”, enthusiastically. It generally comes to a head, on the screen and in our lounge room, when the cigar ignites the gas from the sewage and Aunt Bethany belts out The Star Spangled Banner while the Santa and reindeer are boosted up from the explosion and fly through the night sky. Usually I am cry-laughing so hard at this stage that I am snorting champagne. It’s thanks to these two movies that I’ve always wanted to spend Christmas in Chicago.

Sidenote: other Christmas movies I am obsessed with love include Love Actually and Miracle on 34th Street. I also remember a movie I loved as a kid (not sure if it’s from the late eighties or early nineties) where there were two kids in New York trying to get their parents back together and the little girl – Hallie – sings the line “Have yourself a merry little Christmas”, over and over and over. Sounds like quality viewing, hey?

I baked these gingerbread folk all by myself a couple of weeks ago, and I’ll make another couple of batches at the end of this week. The smell. Oh the smell – it’s Christmas.

Champagne: Presented without comment

I do like a game of backyard cricket. While possibly not the best idea, the cricket ball is deliberately pictured here after the champagne.

What I love most about my family’s Christmas dinner is the pudding, or more specifically, lighting it on fire. I was astounded to learn at some point, I don’t remember when it was, that other people do not light their puddings on fire. Look at it! How good is it? Why wouldn’t you want to do that?

What are your favourite Christmas traditions?

One thought on “Countdown to Christmas

  1. I love “A Charlie Brown Christmas,” which, while not a full-length feature film, holds all the nostalgia for Christmas for me. But I don’t watch it any more. For the last several years, I can’t choke back the tears when the lone spotlight hits Linus and he recites from Luke 2:8-14, then Charlie Brown goes and picks out the little Christmas tree and declares, “All it needs is a little love.” Maybe I cry because I’m single & feel amiss during Christmas. But we lie in the beds we make, don’t we?

    I’m always up for discussing how I’m going to save the world. But Somebody already did that, didn’t He? And that is what Christmas means most to me, so I might make my own declaration: “Every day is Christmas Day in my world.”

    Thanks for the thought-provoking post, and Merry Christmas to you & yours!

    -Kendall Johnson, Jr.
    Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA

Leave a Reply

