Attempting A World Record

Remember last year when The Designer, my Mum and I did a ukulele workshop? Well, it turns out The Designer is really good (he already played the guitar so that’s not so surprising), my Mum isn’t too bad and I have dutifully mastered the C chord.

On Saturday the three of us drove to Moore Park to participate in the Ukulele World Record Attempt.

Snapped on Saturday in a fit of joy when our record attempting song concluded.

We arrived and registered and filtered down into the grassy area reserved for ukulele players participating in the attempt. There did seem to be a lot of people there and there was an exciting buzz in the air. The guy in charge with a microphone who got down to the business of the day, enlightening us on the rules and regs. We jammed, if you will, and got in some practice strumming, including vulgar but delightful renditions of all your family favourites. Then we were introduced to the the *song* we would be knocking out for the record attempt, a peachy split of Mambo No. 5 and the theme song to Bewitched.

Soon after, when the time came around to crack the record, we belted out the tune with gusto. I know that I personally played harder than I have ever played before. And when we finished, we grinned proudly at one another, not caring about the blinding cheesiness around us and waited eagerly to learn if we had broken the world record held by Sweden.

We had not. The guy in charge with a microphone informed us between laughs that we were 1,000 uke players or so short of breaking the World Record! Oh…

I’ve checked out these crazy Swedes since and I have to say, it looks like a pretty mean effort.

[youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IpnUgbvmjYE%5D

I could find only one video that represented Sydney’s attempt yesterday.

[youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TNvqC3p2hUM%5D

At this point, I think it’s safe to say that the title deserves to stay with Sweden. But watch out, after Saturday I think I may also have mastered the A7 Chord and we will definitely be in it next time Sydney challenges this record! Watch this space…

 

Ukulele Chords

Ukulele Chords

Leave a Reply

