A blog post about something I probably know nothing about

How do you feel about online gaming? Or any gaming for that matter? PlayStation, PlayStation 3, Wii, the old school ones… Nintendo, Super Nintendo, Nintendo 64, Sega,j Atari, computer ones like Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego (although, I never played that. Growing up, we didn’t have a computer at home and I was far too worried about breaking them to use the school’s computers) and I’m certain this list goes on and on.

I don’t like them, as a general thing. The Designer has a penchant for all things gaming and is probably what they call a gamer. Last year I gave in and bought him noise cancelling earphones for Christmas so he can now happily shatter his own eardrums with a glassy look on his face while I home bake cookies and make nachos for him (well, that’s what’s going on in his head). But on the other hand, my childhood memories are peppered with noises from Mario Kart, those are good memories, and even now I can be talked into the odd game of Mario Kart. But. As far as day by day habits go though, they’re not my bag baby.

That was before I welcomed Let’s Get Grillin’ into my life.

Image source

This game is simple. You have to grill the various meats on the left and you have to use the correct utensil to handle them. The grill is hotter at the back than at the front and you can pull the cover over the cook the food faster. You have to serve the salads and condiments on the right side as requested by your guests, and those have to be dished up with the correct utensil too. When they arrive with their request, they have five hearts and you have to plate up before the hearts disappear and they leave. If you lose three guests, you’re out.

What is special about this game? Nothing much. It’s just that I LOVE IT. I cannot get enough of this thing. I don’t play all that often but when I do I am firmly planted in my seat for an hour or more.

What is wrong with me?

Do you ever find yourself captivated by online gimmicks? Tell me I am not alone!

Leave a Reply

